top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureph4nt0m

Some Starts...

Hello reader.

This is just a mark for the tech page, but I need to update here. I have had some time getting use to my H420, so, now I want to set my work environment around what I plan on doing in the future. What I have available is my mac pro, my linux desktop, and my 2 primary laptops. One laptop is a macbook 2,1 that I am going to put libre/coreboot on and the other is my Lenovo Y40-70. Both are going to run linux along side my desktop, which will dual boot linux and windows.

At a certain point I want to have my desktop set up to stream. I want to get into an LTS Linux environment (Long Term Support, meaning a stable kernel, drivers, and good security) that I can game in linux with that will be good for the long run, but at the same time have a windows environment that will trail alongside, if not behind, that will give me access to some games and BBS software when I need access to it. I have a very easy set up for the linux side, as my boot and /home are separated allowing me to jump ship whenever I want.

If you aren't a linux user, maybe a windows user, imagine this. Open your file browser and look at all your folders. Documents, Downloads, Music, Photo's, Videos, etc. In linux we have a very similar thing, however somewhere in windows is a folder that actually contains those individual folders and a bunch of configuration stuff. In linux, these are all grouped together, however rather than just having links that lead to a folder surrounded by some vital system stuff, its in a separate folder, partition, or in my case hard drive, and your apps, files, downloads, and other nonesuch go in that folder. For instance, all my steam files, documents, pictures, music, and code projects are in my /home. Then on my boot drive is where my actual OS is installed. When I want to change linux OS's, I can just overwrite the boot and point my /home at the new installation and never need to back anything up! It makes it very easy to try a new system for a week.

With that being said, I'm currently on a system called arch. The point of arch is to be as up to date as possible. All new kernels, any versions of programs that are released, everything is updated as soon as its ported. This can cause stability issues with the system very easily. What an LTS system does instead of a rolling system like arch is release every once in a while. Maybe every 6 months, or every 4, and those updates are completely for security or improvements to the system itself. Then apps, tools, and other things get updated regularly as they come out when the managers of the system get around to it. Its not instantaneous, but just eventually they get to it. This sounds slow, but firefox or chrome are updated just as regularly for us linux users as for windows or OSX.

The system that I want to try and get into is called Mageia. Its actually based on one of the oldest linux distros out there, but is relatively up to date. Its rather secure and easy to use, albeit with some more stable habits like locking the ability to delete partitions of your system or other important things strictly to the admin of the machine, which is a completely separate user level to the basic user. If I could, I would like to have this OS on my desktop and laptop.

Then lastly, I have some plans to update some hardware on my desktop. I like to play games, and currently I have an XFX R7 370. The newest generation is the 400 series, and the 500 series is coming out in a month or two. An RX470 is about 159 USD at the moment, but when the 500 series drops, the prices will hit the bottom of the bucket FAST. I expect to be able to sell my 370 for a good price on craigslist, maybe 80, and be able to use that towards buying a 470, which should drop to 120 or 110 if all goes to plan. The 470 is literally double the performance of the 370 and will keep me going if I really want to get into streaming on twitch.

So, this is the kind of jargain that will be on this part of the blog. If its hard to follow, no worries. As I learn things I will put them here so you can follow along if you like. Maybe you'll end up a fan of linux! That would certainly be cool!

Will post soon.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Some Hardware Updates

Hello Reader, I apologize for not being around. My parents had to go down to florida to assist my grandparents and retrieve a new truck. In that time though, I got a new GPU! I actually wanted to c

A START OF MOVEMENT

bottom of page